Little Love Poems

 
 
 
    I.
 
Passion Plays
Sidewalk street scenes
Commercialized love-ins at the five and dime.
It’s getting so you can’t speak of intimate feelings
without sounding like a third rate flick
or pocket novel.
So we go cold in protest.
And that is the evil
of obscenity.
 
    II.
 
I fell in love once
Now they just take on different
Faces and Forms.
These objects of my passions.
It’s all the same fucking merry-go-round
of rapid pulse beats
hot and cold flashes
And none of it seems very real or sane
or even, at this well-worn point,
Romantic.
 
    III.
 
You said you loved me,
And it made my world.
I called you my lover;
and felt secure in the race to conquest.
Yet lately, when I’m alone
I feel an urge to leaving.
And when I’m with you,
I’m not there at all.
 
    IV.
 
Love is a word people use a lot.
I love you.
Maybe not tomorrow, maybe not five minutes,
but right now.
You touch me.
Through a look, a phrase, an expression,
the way you stand so firmly on your ground.
And I respond
with the hot flush of love
in a smile.
.
.
.
Leave a Reply

