Phoenix Flame

A ball of fire in my palm
behind my eyes
consumes all flesh.
Engulfed in crackling frame-dissolving
flame, hot bed of sparkling embers
destroys soft hair and lashes.
Yet out of ash always renewed
ready to burn ever more, feed eternal combustion.
I can’t sleep beneath the flash and noise,
find respite from immolation.
Atom by atom rent, then realigned
to play again at disintegration.
Towers fall through blood
and sinew stripped from form. 
 *
You are of me.
You are one of me.
You see what I see.
You fear as I decree.
You do what I command.
I’ve got you in my hand.
I’ve got you underhand.
Touch me. Touch me. Touch me. Touch me.
You are far away.
You are very far away.
You don’t do what I say.
You don’t hear what I pray.
I’m screaming “go away”
Go away. Go away. Go away. Go away.
* 
I’m sitting in my room.
I’ve seduced you to my room.
I feel you in my womb.
You got away too soon.
You haven’t got a chance.
No, not a bloody chance.
I circle in my dance.
I’ve trapped you in my dance.
In a trance, in a trance, in a trance, in a trance
Come on — DANCE!
Touch me. Touch me. Touch me. Touch me.
DANCE!
 *
Quietly, quickly, deathly grace
annihilates without a trace.
Stealthily, silently my poison kills,
to cleanse this land of a people’s ills.
The key’s been cast, so lock the door
on lies and poverty; greed and war.
Purify in red soaked fire.
Deify the symbol of desire.
And when all desire’s turned to dust,
etch in fire: “IN GOD WE TRUST.”
A sacred trust.
 *
Sound the bell.
Sound the bell.
Sound the bell slowly
o’er all we’ve made holy.
Ring bright pure-toned peals
o’er gold flaming fields.
In music now seal’d
the end of our fate.
Sound the bell.
Sound the bell.
* 
And now I sail from the sea of Lethe.
Phoenix, risen from my death
to journey on through time and space.
Progenitor to the human race.
.
.
.
One thought on “Phoenix Flame

Leave a Reply

