Nothing But Sad Blues

Thought I’d do well by doing good
Entertain in my neighborhood
Did some tricks, told some jokes
Sang my heart out to those hometown folks
But after the show when I tracked down the man
Seems paying my share wasn’t part of his plan
It was then I knew that I’d been had
.
It ain’t funny
got no money
It ain’t nothing but sad
 .
You who sold your soul and
spent the money
not so cunning
not so funny
And I wonder why I bother
I wonder why I try
when it’s so hard to make a living
hurting like I wanna die
 .
Just another sad life
Ain’t no way to matter cause I ain’t got a dime
Can’t hire a lawyer to tell my side of the crime
Got no contract to stake my claim
Got no position of power or name
Ain’t no good to even get mad
 .
Just another sad lie,
such a sad life
 .
Can we open up and keep it real
touch to feel
silk to steel
It ain’t funny
got no money
It ain’t nothing but sad
At least, I thought, I done some good
Giving some joy to the neighborhood
But folks just grumbled ’bout their day
‘Bout their no account boss and mighty slim pay
Yeah, what do we get for feeling so bad
People going through their daily paces
leaving traces
crying faces
 .
People talking ’bout their daily trouble
seems to double
dreams to rubble
And I wonder why I bother
I wonder why I try
when it seems we’re only living
cause we’re too in debt to die
 .
It ain’t funny
got no money
nothing but sad
..
.
Leave a Reply

